Hip Hop Stars Honor Nas At Vibe Impact Awards

Swizz Beatz, J. Cole and A&R rep Faith Newman delivered a speech to celebrate Nas at the VIBE Awards.

Nas was honored with VIBE’s Impact Award last weekend in Los Angeles. Watch the amazing speeches from Swizz Beatz, J. Cole and Faith Newman below:

Swizz Beatz

“This is my Virgo brother. We’ve done many sessions together,” Swizz said. “A lot of songs never came out, but we did many sessions together. Because like when we get in the studio it’s just a weird vibe because we forget how much we vibe together. Because he go do his thing. I go do my thing. And when we’re finally in the studio it’s like ‘Man, why we ain’t do this six months ago. You know, I gotta turn my album in next week.’ So, we trying to cram in 50 songs in like a week. And then we say ‘Let’s just save it for the next album.’ We did that about four albums back to back. So, hopefully this album, Stoute won’t let that happen.”

J. Cole

“Once I fell in love with the art form of rhyming it was clear to see what I was drawn to, and it was a few things. It was introspection, storytelling, emotion and lyricism,” said Cole. “Those were the things that I could see that I was clearly falling in love with, just as a fan of somebody, that wanted to do this. And, during my early romance with hip hop, there was one rapper who was and still is the poster child for all of those qualities that I just named and that’s Nasir Jones, obviously.”

A&R Rep Faith Newman

“He has become as relevant and as iconic to American music history as The Beatles or The Rolling Stones,” Newman said in her speech. “I think that we knew it from the beginning, we knew how special he was.” I don’t think he set out to make history but we did, he did. I was just glad I was kinda along for the ride and gave him a platform for his genius.”

Later that night Nasir opened up to MStars reporter, Star Connor about receiving the award :

“It’s incredible, I couldn’t see myself here, I didn’t even know I would get honored. It caught me by surprise, I’m really grateful.”

Leave a comment